[ 02 ]


[DEILE is sitting on one of the couches in the main lobby of The Quinn, with the central Cyncpad currently on some sort of streaming service from his original world. He scrolls along, trying to find something before his generated Cottoncorn gets cold. Eventually, he settles on a classic sci-fi thriller- The That, about an alien who’s able to blend in with others seamlessly in an isolated area.]

[ABACAXI]: what, having a movie night all on your own?

[DEILE looks over his shoulder to see ABACAXI floating out of the backroom door. He waves.]

[DEILE]: Oh, hi Aba. It wasn’t really a big thing, I’ve just been feeling a bit down and wanted to watch something to make me feel better.

[ABACAXI]: and you chose The That, a terrifying movie about not knowing who to trust… bold. you mind if i?

[He doesn’t wait for an answer, and just floats over to the couch, materializing a soda for him to sip.]

[ABACAXI]: …why are you all alone out here, anyway? didn’t want to ask anyone else to join?

[The moth shakes his head.]

[DEILE]: No. Marinn, Dorothy… they’re a bit odd. I don’t really gel well with them. I’m 95% sure Elise hates me, though she hates everyone, so…

[DEILE]: ...and Chance is back to doing his afternoon workout thing. I don’t really wanna mess with that after last time.

[ABACAXI]: what about cali?

[There’s a pause.]

[ABACAXI]: rough subject?

DELIE: We just… haven’t really been talking much after our match with Chance. I can’t help but think that she somehow thinks it was my fault for losing, or something.

[ABACAXI]: hey, if it makes you feel any better, it was a lot closer than you were probably thinking.

[DEILE]: …Really? Huh…

[He seems excited about that news, but then slumps back down into the couch.]

[DEILE]: Shame she’d just make up some excuse as to how I was the one who cost us the whole thing, then…

[DEILE]: You and the doctor, how do you two work together? I feel like you two are always bickering, but keep things running.

[ABACAXI]: well, for me it's really two things.

[ABACAXI]: one thing is just, y'know, focusing on your own strengths and nothing else?

[ABACAXI]: like, i'm the magic guy, she's the science gal. i don't tell her what to do, she doesn't tell me what to do.

[ABACAXI]: we stay in our lanes, only collabing if we need to.

[ABACAXI]: might be good to find your strengths between you two- she's like, a computer right? maybe she handles the computer stuff.

[DEILE]: That's- that's not how that works, she's just a computer, she's not naturally good at computer things, but I can understand what you're getting at.

[ABACAXI]: right, right. well. my other thing is- and this might sound a bit harsh...

[ABACAXI]: you don't... need to be friends with her.

[ABACAXI]: me and the doc? pretty much just business. i try and get her interested in my stuff but she's too busy or whatever, so after a certain point i just stopped trying.

[ABACAXI]: and like, sure, you and cali were like, paired up by your leader, and have to do everything together, but if the vibe isn't working then it's just not working, y'know?

[DEILE]: I guess I see what you mean.

[ABACAXI]: but, that's just my own perspective. up to you or whatever.

[DEILE nods, looking into his cottoncorn, thinking deeply. ABA's just gone to focusing on the movie, getting so ingrossed that he doesn't even notice when DEILE steps away about halfway in and doesn't come back.]