The Quinn's archives, free to view.

[PLAYBACK: INTERVIEW [ I ] - CHANCE]

[DOCTOR BRONTË and ABACAXI are seated in what one can assume is an interrogation room. However, in an effort to make things more appealing, neon signs akin to ones you’d see in a tropical bar are hanging on the walls.]

[BRONTË is peering through files, while ABACAXI is tossing his magic knife into the air and catching it.]

[BRONTË]: According to what you’ve claimed the timer on those tickets are, the first subject should be arriving about… now.

[And, just on cue, CHANCE appears in the chair behind the glass, across from ABACAXI and BRONTË.]

[CHANCE]: …Woah. Uh. That was weird.

[ABACAXI]: [He chuckles.] yeah, dimensional travel is pretty disorienting.

[CHANCE]: Dimensi... What did you just say? Who are you two? And where am I?

[CHANCE takes a closer look around the place. The holographic screens, the glowing lights…]

[CHANCE]: …Is this the future?

[ABACAXI]: yep. you’ve finally made it to… 2015…

[BRONTË]: [She sighs.] It is not 2015. Don’t listen to him.

[BRONTË]: You’re currently on The Quinn, a ship made to travel between worlds.

[BRONTË]: My associate Abacaxi and I are holding a competition, and have elected you to compete in it.

[CHANCE]: A competition, eh? Sounds gnarly. And I don’t really know about all that… dimensiworld stuff, but it’s nice being somewhere new for once. Decor’s pretty rad, too. I like the palm trees.

[ABACAXI]: thanks.

[BRONTË]: Now, before we send you out into the main lobby, we do have a few questions, if you don’t mind?

[CHANCE]: Sure, what’s up?

[BRONTË]: You mentioned you were a former party game star? Mind telling us about that?

[CHANCE]: Oh, yeah. My first gig! Chance Time was a righteous game. It was one of the first games on a VHS tape, which was totally unheard of at the time.

[CHANCE]: But, since it was featuring me, it got to be a lot more innovative too! I was hosting it, making each different playthrough unique.

[CHANCE]: I looked a lot different then, too. Much boxier. Wore a party hat.

[CHANCE]: …though, apparently not everyone liked having to use a tape to play a board game. The hype died down pretty badly after a certain point. But all careers have their bumps, y’know?

[CHANCE]: That’s why I made the jump from parties… to pilates! Workout tapes are being rented bigtime, so there’s no way this’ll just be a fad too.

[BRONTË]:

[ABACAXI]:

[There’s an uncomfortable pause.]

[CHANCE]: What?

[BRONTË]: Nothing. Now, what do you know about Allwerk Entertainment?

[CHANCE]: Allwerk? Oh, that’s the people who distribute my tapes.

[BRONTË]: …Yes. Do you know anything else about them?

[CHANCE]: Not really, no. They got in contact with me for that first tape, we talked a bit about the marketing and tie in products, and then they helped me with the hop over to aerobics. Outside of that I’ve been too busy being rewound and keeping the audiences entertained to really try to.

[CHANCE]: Plus, I was already having a mad good time, I dunno why I’d even need to talk to ‘em.

[ABACAXI]: …so, even with all workouts and no play, it doesn’t get dull?

[CHANCE]: I mean, sure, it’s a little repetitive, but for me it’s all about the audience, y’know? They keep me going, keep me fresh.

[CHANCE]: Especially since I'm not exactly, uh... conscious when the tape isn't playing, so, it's not like I ever have the chance to do anything else anyway.

[BRONTË]: Well, here on The Quinn, you won’t have to worry about your workout schedule or anything like that. Perhaps you can treat this as a well earned vacation.

[BRONTË]: Now, that’s all we have for you right now. Please exit into the lobby, our assistant Cync will be out there to answer any questions and to get you to your room.

[CHANCE]: Woah, I get a room? Usually I just slept backstage on the set... nice.

[CHANCE heads out of the door, leaving just the two hosts in the Interviewing Room.]

[BRONTË is writing down her findings.]

[ABACAXI]: …oh wait, i only asked like, one question.

[BRONTË]: Yeah. Good. Keep it that way. I don’t need your ‘funny jokes’ messing with the subjects.

[ABACAXI]: aw, but i think i actually had some decent ones. like, uh…

[ABACAXI]: why is he a robot?
[ABACAXI]: why does he have wheels on his feet?
[ABACAXI]: shouldn’t that make it a lot harder to do aerobics?
[ABACAXI]: didn’t he cause like, thousands of breakups or something?
[ABACAXI]: how did aerobics ruin relationships, anyway?
[ABACAXI]: how could you even personalize a VHS tape?? and-

[BRONTË]: Shut it. I’m leaving to file this. Be sure to finalize that ticket for the next two. We don’t want anyone having to wait over a month just to get another competitor, alright?

[ABACAXI]: alright yeah fine.

[BRONTË leaves the room, while ABACAXI just flops back in his chair.]

[End Recording]