The Quinn's archives, free to view.

[PLAYBACK: PENTA CROSS X2 - MARINN & BROKEN BONES, BROKEN HEARTS]

[ The first thing that can be heard is the rustle of leaves. ]

[ MARINN is well acquainted with forests. They’ve always been a bit of a haven for him- the smells, the texture. They’re a great place to just unwind and work on carving. Even better when they’re quiet and isolated. ]

[ However, even with the comforting location- MARINN couldn’t help but feel uneasy. Maybe that’s just him being pushed to another random location, though. He takes a deep breath as he starts to explore the forest he finds himself in- clearly if this was decided as a vacation spot, it’d have some sort of things to do, right? Not that he really needs anything to do (group activities were never really his thing) but at least knowing his surroundings could put his mind at ease. ]

[ What doesn’t put his mind at ease, however, is stumbling across what was clearly a graveyard. ]

[MARINN]: …Well, this is…

[MARINN]: Hm.

[ He’s reminded of where he came from, that horrible killing game that he was thrown into. His classmates had made their own makeshift graveyard near the forest on the outside grounds- simply something to remember people by. He always found the sentiment to be touching. At least if he ended up falling victim to that game, they’d honor his memory with a slab of stone. ]

[ After a moment, he crouches down and puts his hand on one of the graves. He doesn’t try to disturb the settled dirt too much or even see who it belonged to. It’s here, and that’s what’s important to him. ]

[ His quiet moment is quickly dissolved as a bitcrushed voice speaks from above him. ]

[???]: Hey, you’re not supposed to be here!

[MARINN]: AAAAAAH!

[ The puppeteer falls back in shock, nervously looking up at the origin of the voice. Standing over the grave is a short, stocky figure with an orange skull for a head. It seems puzzled at the reaction. Another voice pipes up from behind. ]

[???-2]: Seriously? You really must learn how to approach someone in the middle of grieving.

[???-1]: Hey, I didn’t know they’d do that! I mean, the last visitor we had didn’t seem very phased.

[MARINN]: …Wh-what?

[ MARINN scrambles backwards, only to bump into who the intruder was talking to- a far taller skeleton, neon pink hair casting light in an otherwise dim and dreary graveyard. ]

[???-2]: You’re obviously only here to visit the beach, that’s all anyone does when they cross over to our side of the forest…

[???-1]: It’s just right over there, just keep walking until you reach the sand. If you reach the water, that probably means you’ve overshot it a bit.

[ The smaller skeleton points to the exit on the other side of the graveyard, and sure enough, there seems to be a much more lively looking beach, despite the forest right beside it. MARINN looks out and things for a moment. ]

[MARINN]: Look, if I’m going to be honest, the concept of swimming in front of people is far scarier than this place, so… I think I’m fine right here.

[ The two skeletons look at each other, almost confused as to why someone would prefer their home turf. But neither feel the need to push him out- he’s far too quiet to be an annoyance. ]

[???-1]: Suit yourself!

[ The stocky skeleton hops off of the headstone, and runs further into the graveyard. As MARINN stands, he jumps once again by the taller one speaking up. ]

[???-2]: …I must ask what exactly you’re doing here. I can’t imagine most would come to this forest to simply visit this specific cemetery.

[MARINN]: O-oh, it- wasn’t really my choice, honestly? I just sort of, was taken here, as some sort of… vacation? The forest is nice, though… [ He looks off to another grave, taking special note at any special embellishments or carvings. ]

[???-2]: …Lewis.

[MARINN]: …huh?

[LEWIS]: I realize I haven’t introduced myself. My name is Lewis, and the name of my companion who disturbed you is Skull Guy.

[MARINN]: …That’s just his name, Skull Guy?

[ As if summoned, SKULL GUY hops out from behind the new grave MARINN is looking at. Once again, he jumps in surprise. ]

[SKULL GUY]: Yep! Eheh, sorry for the scare.

[ MARINN glances between them, holding his puppet to his chest. ]

[MARINN]: Marinn. I’m Marinn.

[ LEWIS’s eyes peer into the puppeteer, trying to get a read on him. ]

[LEWIS]: …You said you didn’t choose to be here?

[ MARINN shakes his head. ]

[LEWIS]: This isn’t usually a place for relaxation. I feel like you need to give whoever sent you here a piece of your mind.

[SKULL GUY]: Look, if I were sent on a vacation and ended up in a graveyard, first I’d say that it’s a little presumptuous to assume that a skeleton would enjoy that sort of thing, not all of us are people who died, some of us were just born skeletons. But then I’d say, uh. Hm. Um. I forgot where I was going with this.

[ LEWIS casts an annoyed glance at his partner. ]

[MARINN]: Really, it’s not that big of a deal, honest! The guy who sent me here is some sort of sorcerer and I don’t really want to be rude after all they’ve done for me, plus I’ve just sort of… gotten used to it?

[MARINN]: I’ve never really had much of a say in anything, so I just kind of end up where they want me.

[ The ghostly figure seems appalled. ]

[LEWIS]: That’s no way to live your life- living so scrappily, letting the world send you here and there is going to leave you hollow after a while.

[LEWIS]: You need to be able to stand up for yourself.

[MARINN]: …like- in a fight?

[SKULL GUY]: I mean, maybe a few more pushups a day couldn’t hurt…

[LEWIS]: Skull.

[LEWIS]: …What I am trying to say is that you need to be able to be unafraid to speak your feelings. To be strong enough to truly live while you can, not just getting buffeted around by what everyone else thinks you should be doing.

[MARINN]: I mean, maybe I could try, but… why do you even care?

[ LEWIS looks out into the treeline, reminiscing. ]

[LEWIS]: Seeing someone graced with being alive and wasting it away always hurts me to see. You’re young, you still have time to change your ways and find your footing.

[LEWIS]: …and, if I’m being frank, I see a little bit of myself in you, back when I was a mortal.

[LEWIS]: Just a small amount though. Like a smidge. I was never pathetic to that extent.

[MARINN]: [He rolls his eyes at the comment, annoyed.] Yeah, okay, thank you.

[SKULL GUY]: See, you’re already getting the swing of it! Being passive aggressive is just one passive away from full aggressive! You just gotta use that spine of yours more often and you’ll be in control of your life in no time!

[LEWIS]: At least you know when you’re being insulted. Skull is on the right track, though- you must learn to take hold of those strings of your life, else you may end up just like us.

[The duo pose together ominously. ]

[MARINN]: D-dead?!

[LEWIS]: Heartbroken.

[SKULL GUY]: Eh, but maybe dead too! You never know!

[ MARINN simply nods in understanding. To LEWIS at least- he’s a little unnerved at SKULL GUY’s comment. ]

[LEWIS]: I do implore you to at least consider what I’ve said- it’s not many days I can warn people that one day might end up like myself. From experience, I would never wish this life upon anyone.

[MARINN]: …Thank you.

[ MARINN watches as the two continue further and deeper into the graveyard, before eventually being obscured by fog. His mind loops their conversation as he finds a small bench to sit in near the grave that sparked the encounter. Take control of his life. To the normal person it’d sound obvious, but in his shoes… ]

[ He pulls out his puppet, looking at her for a moment before looking at the stars in the night sky above… ]

[End Recording]