The Quinn's archives, free to view.

[PLAYBACK: INTERVIEW [III] - DOROTHY GALE]

[The feed flickers on once again, back to the same interview room. On the interview side of the room, BRONTË and ABA yelling at each other.]

[On the other side, the newest competitor is leaning back in her chair, glaring through the glass window. The audio is muffled for her, but she can very clearly see a shouting match take place.]

[BRONTË]: -me say this again, Aba. As it seems like you’re having a hard time understanding.

[BRONTË]: We, you and I, decided to get Arowe Essey from that world. Arowe Essey? Do you remember that name, Aba?

[ABACAXI]: sheesh, yes. i remember her name. she was cool, had a little guns/warfare and magic theme going on. no need to be so hostile... [He crosses his arms.]

[BRONTË]: Then, if you remember her, can you tell me if that’s her? In the other room?

[ABACAXI]: what? no, that isn’t her.

[BRONTË]: Who is she, then?

[ABACAXI]: uh, dorothy gale? y’know, girl from kansas who goes to oz? everyone knows her.

[BRONTË]: DO YOU NOT UNDERSTAND THE PROBLEM WITH THAT??

[BRONTË]: Having not only a critical character, but a critical known character here could ruin the WHOLE operation! This experiment hinges on unfamiliarity!

[BRONTË]: So, why don’t you FIX this little mess of yours, get the person we ACTUALLY AGREED ON, and then we can get on with the experiment.

[ABACAXI]: okay, wow. do you think i chose to have dorothy here intentionally?? arowe would have gotten the ticket if she was a better shot…

[ABACAXI]: and if you want this to be fixed, you better expect another delay. i can’t just magically make another teleporting ticket.

[BRONTË]: Yes. You CAN. You’re a SORCERER. THAT’S LITERALLY HOW YOU MAKE THEM!!!

[Suddenly, there’s a slam on the glass. The two turn to see DOROTHY GALE, angrily trying to get their attention.]

[BRONTË]: [She scowls at ABA, and turns off the audio blockers.] I'm so sor-

[DOROTHY]: [DOROTHY cuts her off.] Jesus Christ, finally. I just want to say. I am SO sick and tired of constantly being tossed to strange places. First Oz, now this… magic prison?

[DOROTHY]: At least I’m just guessing it’s not Oz! Maybe you two work for the Witch, and are arguing about the best way to torture me! I don’t know!

[DOROTHY]: Ugh. [She sits back down in the chair, scraping her sword on the ground.]

[BRONTË]: …hm.

[BRONTË]: [She leans over to ABA.] She doesn’t act like Dorothy.

[ABACAXI]: did you even read through my description of the world? this isn’t just normal oz, apparently things have gotten a lot worse there. corruption is rampant, actual injuries… it’s surprising she even looks vaguely similar.

[BRONTË]: …Dorothy. Can you tell us about your time in Oz? It sounds like it wasn’t a very… pleasant time.

[DOROTHY]: Oh, it definitely wasn’t!

[DOROTHY]: First off, I had to not only survive a Tornado, but protect my dog through it, which is not easy, so. I was already shaken up from that.

[DOROTHY]: But, when it all stops and I’m finally safe to leave my house…

[DOROTHY]: I’m greeted by two mangled legs right underneath the porch.

[DOROTHY]: I accidentally killed someone!

[DOROTHY]: And then! A bunch of townspeople all come out, all cheering and laughing! Singing a song about how I just murdered someone!

[DOROTHY]: [She exhaustedly points at her silver slippers.] Somehow these… horrible things got stuck on my feet, and! Apparently! This Wicked Witch now wants to kill me for them!

[DOROTHY]: So I’ve been having to defend myself with bits of the windmill that I found, all welded into… this. [She holds up her sword, The Galebringer, and spins the saw-like part of it.]

[DOROTHY]: And it’s not easy! That Witch has wolves! Wasps! Crows! I’ve had to deal with whole swarms of them!

[DOROTHY]: I rescued this poor scarecrow who was getting attacked by them, but then he insisted he traveled with me, meaning I now have to babysit a sack of straw as well as my dog.

[DOROTHY]: Finally, to top it all off! I’ve had this horrible fever ever since I got there, and…

[DOROTHY]: [She slumps down.]

[DOROTHY]: i’m just. so. tired of all of this. i just want to go home.

[BRONTË and ABA look at each other, and back to the farmgirl sitting across from them. BRONTË sighs.]

[BRONTË]: …Okay. Dorothy.

[BRONTË]: I usually wouldn’t do this, and go against very clearly set up plans, but.

[BRONTË]: I’m offering for you to join a competition we’re holding.

[BRONTË]: It’s still not home, and I know that, but at least here you’ll be safe from any witches.

[BRONTË]: And, with any luck, perhaps you can learn some new skills to better defend yourself? We have a great training ground if you’re interested.

[DOROTHY]: [DOROTHY looks up.] …and after this, i’ll finally be able to go home?

[BRONTË]: [She hesitates.] I can’t guarantee getting you back to Kansas. But we will get you back to Oz prepared for any future battles you may have to fight.

[DOROTHY]: [She sighs, and stands up.] Alright.

[BRONTË]: Feel free to exit to the lobby Dorothy. Maybe Cync can help you with your fever.

[As DOROTHY exits, BRONTË turns to her associate.]

[BRONTË]: Before you say any quick quips. I’m still not happy about having to do this. But we’re already behind schedule, and clearly she’s in need of some sort of helping hand.

[BRONTË]: I’ll make sure the experiment can run even with this.

[BRONTË]: You’re in charge of getting the… tournament side figured out. Give her… I dunno, tornadoes or something. You’re the one who cares about the details.

[ABACAXI]: …alright, fine.

[BRONTË]: And make sure you know exactly who’s picking up the next tickets. I won’t be as nice if this huge of a mistake happens a second time.

[ABACAXI]: yeah yeah, whatever.

[End Recording]