The Quinn's archives, free to view.

[PLAYBACK: II v IV - MARINN vs COMPUTER BUG - RESULTS]


[As the cards float down, ZOAN opens her eyes. At one point simply confused, but soon enough the truth of what just happened hits her.]

[ZOAN]: Wh- what was that? Did I- did I have a vision?

[She looks at her gloved hands, before smiling, which then turns to laughter.]

[ZOAN]: She was right! Clair was right! I do have some sort of- spiritual energy! Oh, she’d be so proud if she was here- Oh, wait- I have to know…

[ZOAN]: I couldn’t see anything- it was just this blur of colors and light- this… feeling of seeing something that I couldn’t understand yet, but I could tell it was important. But even through that- I could feel it had something to do with you three. So… what did you see?

[CALI , DEILE , and MARINN, all seated in front of her, simply stare at her with varying states of fear.]

[ZOAN]: What? What did I do?

[DEILE]: WHAT WAS THAT??

[MARINN]: Did- Did I stab out my own eye???

[CALI]: What was happening to Deile?? Why was he floating?? Why was I just watching that happen???

[DEILE]: I know I’m a moth, but I think we all know my body’s gotten a bit too big for my wings lately, so. SOMETHING was going on.

[ZOAN sheepishly looks down at her cards.]

[ZOAN]: …Alright. I see that my first foray into actual… spiritual visions may have been a bit bad.

[CALI]: Bad? No, n-no, I wouldn’t say that. The picture was really good on our end, outside of the vagueness and shadows and- well, the fact that you were actually able to even do anything was already a great feat. It was really just, you know, the… content, of the visions that are causing this reaction, y’know?

[She gives a weak thumbs up to ZOAN.]

[ZOAN]: Cali. You don’t need to make me feel better. You two look like you both saw a ghost, and that poor kid seems like he’s about to completely break down.

[She gestures over to MARINN, who’s spaced out from everyone else and is instead just trying to work out what he saw- with each detail he ends up recognizing, causing him to panic a little bit more.]

[MARINN]: I remember that- that dorm. It’s- it was… but… wh-why was I there? And, the face in the doorway… the… the Duelist… wh-why was he… was I…?

[ZOAN]: Hey, hey kid?

[She snaps her fingers, waving at him.]

[ZOAN]: Crikey. Sure hope I didn’t break him.

[After some deep breaths, at the very least the two cultists are calming down.]

[DEILE]: Zoe, don’t worry. We’ll all be fine. And, to be honest, at least this was better than the other times you had us playing cards with you.

[She rolls her eyes.]

[ZOAN]: Good to know you’re feeling better, Deile.

[After a few more beats of silence, and some nervous glances over at MARINN, a 5 note jingle along with an announcement comes on over the speakers.]

[BRONTË]: Oh, uh. Marinn is your victor. Congratulations.

[MARINN]: I… won??

[MARINN]: How- wh-why??

[He seems to be a lot more panicked about this victory compared to his previous win. He shoots a glance towards the three cultists, before rushing out of the door. In fear of their reaction? Or maybe in fear of what his victory condition was?]

[ZOAN]: …There’s a victor? Sorry- I’m just now realizing that I have no clue what you three were doing.

[CALI shoves the table in annoyance.]

[CALI]: Of course he won. Why wouldn’t he…

[DEILE]: See, Cali. This is why I told you this was a bad idea.

[CALI]: Well, how would I have known that... that would happen...

[ZOAN]: …I’m still here, mate.

[CALI]: Yes, I know, I’m sorry- it’s just. We have not been doing well in this whole… Competition thing. At first it seemed like it was just a bad plan, but here-

[DEILE]: It’s still a bad plan. Clearly there’s some rules they aren’t telling us, and I don’t think actively annoying someone counts towards a win.

[DEILE]: Okay, scratch that, just remembered Chance. Maybe you were onto something…

[CALI]: UGH. Do you see what I have to deal with, Zoe? At least at the gate there are other members to talk to every now and then, here I’m just- stuck with him. Constantly.

[DEILE]: Yeah, well, it’s not like you’re any better. This is literally a vacation from the routine. We don’t have to try and recruit people here, especially not when simply talking to someone can count as a match win…

[CALI]: Well, what do you think? You’ve been in The Seventh Gate longer than us.

[ZOAN takes a moment to think.]

[ZOAN]: …Hate to say it, but. Deile might be right this time.

[CALI]: What??

[ZOAN]: Look, obviously the Specula will appreciate your efforts regardless, and more numbers is always appreciated, but- do you even know if… well… the Specula can even count them? That puppet kid didn’t look like anyone we’ve seen- well, sort of similar, but- I could feel a difference. I’m not sure any of these people can be saved.

[CALI]: …So I should just stop trying?

[ZOAN]: Of course not. Just… maybe be less persistent, you know? Help in smaller ways, ways that don’t make them back away in fear. That might make them more likely to listen, at least.

[CALI looks a little dejected, but… what she’s saying doesn’t seem wrong to her. Maybe she has been a little… too focused on the wrong things. She just sighs, and walks out of the room by herself.]

[DEILE]: I’m glad you decided to drop in, you wouldn’t believe how irritating it’s been trying to bunk with her through this. Hopefully this can finally be a real- break from everything, you know?

[The jellyfish rolls her eyes.]

[ZOAN]: Just because it’s a break doesn’t mean you two should stop being a team. I know it’s hard to think of other people in that giant fuzzy thing you call your head, but at least try.

[DEILE]: Hey, I have, you just- you just didn’t see it here. ...Which I guess could be part of the issue.

[DEILE]: Well. It was nice catching up. I guess I’ll see you… uh…
[He just sort of looks at her, before realizing that he has no clue how her showing up here worked or where she’s going to go. Better to just leave than question it though, which is what he promptly does.]

[End Segment]