The Quinn's archives, free to view.

[PLAYBACK: II v IV - COMPUTER BUG vs MARINN]


[ As the feed flickers on, CALI and DEILE are already inside the simulation room. It’s been formed into a comfortable and non-threatening outdoor park area, though formed based on their own memory of parks in their home world. More litter than some would expect. ]

[DEILE]: …Are you sure this is such a good idea, Cali?

[CALI]: Yes, I am. You spoke all about wanting to focus on each others strengths, right? Well, I’d say my strength is to allow people to understand and want to join our cause. To help people. Helpful people help people, you know.

[DEILE]: Yes, I know. That’s what the word means. I just… don’t know if it’s a good idea to-

[CALI]: What? Help our fellow competitors learn about the end of their life and their continued existence?

[DEILE]: Yes.

[CALI]: Well, I don’t see a problem with it. What better time than now is there to try and support others?

[ DEILE sighs. He promised not to interfere with anything that’s considered her strengths, and if this was one of them, then he just needs to support her. Even if he’s a little wary about it. As he wonders about this, MARINN walks through the door. ]

[MARINN]: O-oh, hey, you two. You said you all had- something to talk to me about?

[ MARINN walks over to a bench in the park. Notably, his puppet is not with him. He’s started to fear for her safety, so he’s left her in his dorm. ]

[CALI]: So, I’ve heard a little bit about… where you’ve come from, and I can tell you’ve had it rough.

[MARINN]: "Rough." Yeah, that’s o-one way to put it…

[CALI]: But, I wanted to take a moment and try and… help you, a little bit. Maybe ease some of your concerns. Have you ever thought about your death?

[DEILE]: (...Not a great opener…)

[MARINN]: Y-yes, quite a lot. It’s one of the unfortunate things you have to always think about when you’re, uh… constantly fearing one of your friends will backstab you at any moment.

[CALI]: Oh, um. Well.

[CALI]: What if I told you you didn’t need to fear death? That there was a way to feel content that after you die, to find yourself in a wonderful place?

[MARINN]: I… I think it’s p-pretty valid to fear for my life when I’m in a killing game, actually. And I don’t really care or think about what happens after, really? I just want to- live, y’know?

[DEILE]: (..look, i’ve heard some things that he’s already had it rough with others trying to influence him. Maybe we just… cut it here, try it with someone else.)

[ CALI ignores him. ]

[CALI]: C’mon, Marinn, wouldn’t you want to learn more? Would you like to be free from your shackles of fear?

[MARINN]: No, I’m- I’m fine, frankly. I, uh-

[ He stands, inching towards the door. ]

[MARINN]: I think I should go.

[ As he gets to the door however, it closes shut on him. All three seem concerned by this. ]

[DEILE]: (...Hell. Is this- does this count as a match??)

[CALI]: Okay, I’m sorry if I’m a little harsh, but- I really think you could become even better without that weighing you down. You could reach even higher potential…

[ MARINN shakes his head, and starts to rush away from the duo. As he does, the park seems to slowly be fading out into a dark void. ]

[MARINN]: Nope nope nope- sorry, I- really don’t want to hear this…

[ CALI rushes after him, followed by DEILE. As they run, the moth notices how their attire had changed. ]

[DEILE]: (...Why do we look like fantasy characters…?)

[ Eventually MARINN stops. Where he does, a colorful glow starts to spill from the ground. ]

[CALI]: Marinn, we're just- trying to help you be free…

[ MARINN twists around, whipping out a newly simulated magic wand. ]

[MARINN]: I don't need your help. Please, just... go away…

[ The cultist duo ready their own newly-simulated weapons. ]

[End Segment]